“Do what you fear.”

Lorena Elezi is not much of a talker. Actually, it took quite a lot of tries and awkward silences to make this interview work. Curly haired and silent, the Albanian senior RA prefers quality over quantity in every aspect of her life and that especially includes what she shares with others. When it comes to academic life, it’s the same – rather than participating in many clubs and AUBG activities, Lorena has decided to be really good at a few things that matter. Studying Economics and Math, she is also a part of the Olympics Club and is working on bringing the Freakonomics Club back on campus. However, the reasons why Lorena does a lot of things are not what most people imagine.

“I prefer to be studying something more interesting, like literature, or art, or theater. The Freakonomics club is a club that doesn’t deal with basic economics stuff but economics related to politics, the environment, philosophy…something good.”

Quite diverse, huh?

Well, diversity is a big, important notion for Lorena, because it doesn’t just actualize one idea or event, but an entire lifestyle. Coming from Albania, Lorena had to change her entire way of being and behaving to be able to experience change. And what does diversity mean to her?

“I’m not sure. I see it as a bunch of different people and different happenings all around you, and you being open towards them.”

AUBG was a big part of her achieving a diverse life and that is something she will forever appreciate. “Life in AUBG helped me show myself, get to know myself, work with myself.”

The real question though, for someone with an introverted nature like Lorena, is how she managed to achieve it. Now, as a senior RA, junior in college and popular around campus, let her thoughts be words of advice for everyone.

“I wasn’t feeling comfortable with myself or people around me…so I just decided that’s not good for me. From that, I just decided to live…start living and also doing whatever I would fear. I changed my lifestyle. Now, I dare to talk to people that I wouldn’t before, go to interviews, apply for stuff. I dare to stay what I think and do whatever I want to do.”

Well, diversity comes in all forms and ideas. For someone, it’s jumping off a cliff and for someone else, it’s talking to people. We all fear different things but it’s always what we fear that keeps us bounded.

Do what you fear. Start living.

10570389_10204460877424722_5408333345400790390_n

4 thoughts on ““Do what you fear.”

  1. Social problems are real problems, Im so happy when I see people who manage to deal with theirs and especially those who do it awesomely.

    Like

Leave a comment